One Beautiful Cloud

Word Cloud of Magazine Article Titles

I chair the annual awards program hosted by the Association for Conservation Information, which means I get to see all the entries after they’ve been judged but before they’re shown at the organization’s national conference.

The entries come primarily from state wildlife agencies across the United States. This year, just for fun, I took the titles of all 79 magazine articles entered in the contest’s four magazine article categories (wildlife, general interest, fisheries, and destination/historical/cultural). Then I used a word cloud generator to create this lovely tree.

I showed this image on the association’s Facebook page, where it got quite a bit of attention. I expect to see a bunch of magazine articles in the next year with titles like “The Allure of New Rivers,” “Riding the Fish Trail,” and “First Run of Wild Water.”

2 thoughts on “One Beautiful Cloud

Add yours

  1. I never new such a thing existed – the cloud generator, not ACI – that is so cool. Enjoy this year’s event, I wish I was there with you!

    Carol

    You don’t drown by falling in the water, you drown by staying there.

    1. I love word cloud generators because they’re a neat blend of words (where my brain spends most of its time) and graphic design (where my brain wishes it spent more time).

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

